Fitness Week 4 – I Just Adore Four . . . 

img_9355
It’s Me Again – Ignore the Robert DeNiro Goodfellas Hairstyle


It’s Friday once again. And as is my Friday promise, I am discussing with you my fitness progress in the past week. And to be honest my mind feels like it’s in a big fog right at the moment. I’ve had so many things going for the past week that it’s been hard to keep track of it all. From a day where I went to Downtown Disney and ran around before ending up at Knott’s with my daughter, to making sure I had everything situated for a grant program I had running at my work and praying that the guest speaker showed up, I have been on the go the whole time. I wish I could say that everything went down smoothly. But I suppose that with all of the chaos going on, I can be happy that I am actually breathing at the end of the week.

 

It’s always nice to say that you are actually breathing. Because when you can’t say that you are actually breathing . . . I guess you aren’t saying much of anything at that point. Either way it’s been a crazy week. I have been bothered by a few things but I will get back to that for another blog post later on.

 

So moving right along . . . This is my fitness boo yeah blog! Wait…. not so much. This is my “it’s been a week and a half since I have been at the gym and so now I had to drag my lazy butt back there or I would find my butt glued to the seat” blog. This is the blog that recounts all of my silliness, including at the gym.

 

So last week I was vividly recounting all the details of doing absolutely nothing, because writers have to be good at telling nothing and telling it well. I ended up saying that I would use the previous weeks list because I wouldn’t recreate the wheel or light a match and say I invented fire or something. And I did have a great plan a few weeks ago. So did I actually live up to my plans? Well…

 

I can say with a hundred percent certainty that I still haven’t been to the gym four times in one week. Whether this is to be admired or scorned, I will leave for you to decide. I actually thought I was going to make it this week as I had worked out on Friday, Tuesday and Wednesday. I only had to go on Thursday and it would be my first win for my schedule. And so I was pumped after leaving the gym early on Wednesday figuring that as my work day was later on Thursday that I would make it early in the morning.

 

Did I make it? Not so much. Because I couldn’t get up early on Thursday for the life of me. My bed had turned into Sirens singing me into the rocks. Who cares if the rocks were made out of memory foam? They were still rocks I tell you. And once I couldn’t get up, I needed to get ready to go to a day long meeting that I couldn’t be late for. So the title to the book on my life on Thursday would have been Sirens to Sandmen: Forces making you do the opposite of what you want, and how you can find inner peace. I think the book title is too long for mass marketing though.

 

Moving past book titles, and despite the Sirens and the Sandman, or because of them, I didn’t get 4, unless you want to count losing four pounds, or gaining them back again. I never can understand my scale. I’m not sure whether it is there to taunt me or whether it’s there to confuse the heck out of me. Truthfully, what it really comes down to is my body going haywire because of dietary changes when being sick, and still not counting the calories that I keep telling myself I will do. But counting calories is a pain in the butt. It’s not like an annoying gnat. Although it may be annoying. It’s more like being chased by a cheetah. You can’t slow down for one minute or everything catches up with you. Only I’m sure if I were being chased by a cheetah I would be losing more calories. (I do not advocate cheetah racing and neither do any of my sponsors. Oh right. That means I’m the only one not advocating cheetah racing. Or something)

 

What I will say for this week, on a positive note, is after taking a week off, I did go back to the gym three times. Yay me! And I also made sure I was slowly increasing my cardio, while still working out a half hour on the weights, every day I did go to the gym. Because while I admired the first guy who ran the Marathon, I didn’t want to reenact the ending of that story. Not even the Lifetime movie channel or Spike TV would pay for my reenactment.

 

And as for the weights, I am slowly increasing the weights every day I do make it to the gym. So I’m doing crunches at about 160 pounds of pressure right now. I can still see the trimming going on even if the scale is acting like it’s on a roller coaster and it keeps telling me to quit riding him or he will make sure I really get scared the next time I step on him. I guess scales are just more touchy now-a-days. Sheesh! Increased weight training, along with better rotations of working with legs, then arms and finally abs, means that I now have what can almost be classified as a routine. Woah! I may become a gym rat yet. Nah!

 

So how can I improve this week, aside from breaking my scale into a million pieces? (It would be the equivalent of taking a Prozac. Makes me happy for a time but the effects are sadly temporary, as my wallet would not like me having to replace it later.) I am just going to have to bite the bullet and count those calories. That’s all there is to it. If I want to lose weight, diet has to be involved at this point. Maybe not the starvation diet, but certainly the “maybe I shouldn’t have that piece of chocolate cake for dessert if I don’t want to go do two a days at the gym” diet. Aside from that, I need to increase the time on the elliptical to a half hour and “just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep. . . Oh look! A Septepus!”

 

I will work on that while I hope you are working on your own wins for this week. Is your blog growing? Did you drop 25 pounds and make me the most jealous guy on the face of the earth? Did you make it through your Zumba class without feeling like you were going to have a coronary? Oh right! That’s just my reaction to Zumba. How did week four of my journey turn out for you? And what will you do for a week five encore? Hopefully we will win so much we will be sick of winning. Or someone with orange hair and a bad spray tan tells us.

 

So this is me at the end of my fourth week. Returning triumphant and defiant, or some such nonsense. Until next time.

 

David Elliott, Single Dad’s Guide to Life.

 

Fitness Friday Links:

Week 0 : Not Another Fitness Blog

Week 1 : Week One

Week 2 : Two Down. 19 To Go.

Week 3 : Forced Reboot

80 thoughts on “Fitness Week 4 – I Just Adore Four . . . 

  1. I hate counting calories!!!!!! I used to do that on MyFitness pal app, but I got tired of it. Check out the app, though, it’s very useful.
    Nowadays I have a system where I don’t count calories, I just follow certain guidelines- no processed or junk food, veggies and protein in every meal, no wheat, no dairy, no sugar, fruit only in the morning or after my workout, 8 glasses of water a day, and no eating after 7 or 8 pm. This really works for me! I lost 4 pounds last month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! I know all of those are great things for sure. I used to use the MyFitness Pal app as well so I know what you are talking about.

      Like

  2. LOL!! You are such an entertaining writer! I feel you though! This whole past week I have felt like I have not slept at all or that I have slept too much – I can’t tell which it really is! What I do know is that the universe, the moon, something is out to get me! I have been dragging A$$ all week and the brain fog – it is REAL!
    I am starting to think I need to have myself tested for brain disorders!
    I too also have been distracted – just while reading this article, as entertaining as it was – I had to get up four times to do something else, either for pets, or a delivery, etc. Okay fine, one time I got up to get some food to snack on because well you know, hearing about your journey made me hungry.
    Keep up the good work. I say GOOD work because even though you may not hit all of your goals, you ARE working on it and that is more than I can say for myself half of the time. I need to exercise more too. I DO walk the dog and sometimes get on my treadmill, but most of the time it sits there – across from my desk in my office, taunting me. I should cover it with a blanket or something so it can’t “look” at me.
    Anyway I think I will get up now and get on that thing and show it who’s boss. Until I faint anyway.
    Thanks for the smiles and laughs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! Thanks for all the good wishes. And maybe if I covered my gym card on my key chain I could forget about the gym. Why didn’t I just think of that? ;). Thanks for the compliments! Hope you have an amazing weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Exercising is hard work! I have not managed to stick to my goals in this aspect this year but I have stuck to all kinds of other goals like limiting the amount that I eat. So far I have slot 20 pounds just cutting all of my portions in half.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally feel you. This week has been incredibly busy for me as well and couldn’t get out of bed as much as I wanted to wake up early! Hope this coming week will be better for us. Get some rest over the weekend and prepare to seize the week and our workouts!

    KatrinaJeanCarter.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Seriously, if you take a zumba class, I’m BEGGING you to blog the whole process. PLEASE. But seriously, remember to congratulate yourself. Three times at the gym is more than zero times, and the guy running slow is always moving faster than the guy still sitting on the couch. Progress is progress, and it counts – however slow you may feel that it is.

    My win this week was blog related – I beat my top month again for views, and I’m so excited about the growth! I also mailed off a set of papers that have been torturing me for a couple of weeks, taking steps to create some real positive change in my life. It felt good, though it was terrifying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so awesome!!! It’s so great to hear other people making progress with their goals. And I know it takes time to build a blog. So go you!!! And congrats on getting the papers turned in.
      We shall see if I ever do such a Zumba thing. I know they had a class at the place I was working. I was definitely Zumbtimibidated. If that’s even a word. I am sure it would be funny watching me try.

      Like

      1. Don’t feel bad though. Truly, it’s a little funny watching most people do Zumba. I happen to believe that by the time someone is no longer funny while Zumbaing, they no longer NEED to engage in this particular brand of torture. That being said, I’ve taken Zumba classes before, and they really are a lot of fun – IF you can get your mind off of how ridiculous you probably look.

        In one of my novels, I wrote a plus sized girl attending yoga for the first time. That scene STILL makes me laugh every time I think about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I admit I haven’t had a lot of experience with it. I without a doubt know that it is amazing exercise. I can only imagine the pounds that I would drop doing it. I will have to read that excerpt. That does sound funny doing yoga for the first time. So much is balance and I know it would be horribly difficult.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear some people who say it’s easy, or who act like it’s easy. And then I wonder about aliens and whether we are being invaded.

      Like

  6. And that’s the reason why I do not go to the gym. I do my workouts at home. All body weight workouts and right now I’m actually so sore that I can hardly move… I had a crazy busy January with a very weird schedule and didn’t workout. February was not much better during the first half but I started at least (not regularly though). So a workout that I was able to actually do two of up until last December now lead to me being at the point where I struggle to sit down and get up… All I actually want to say is: Hi, I think you are doing great! I came over from Dream Big, Dream Often 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! Thank you! That was awesome, the opportunity through Dream Big Dream Often. Thank you for the kind words. I actually used to do all my workouts at home when I was with my ex. I have a million stories about that. I did push myself hard and lost quite a bit of weight. So if I had the space now I would consider home workouts again.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I do know that. I lost a ton of weight before. I don’t need to lose nearly as much. And I don’t want to lose as fast either. I want the changes to be permanent.

      Like

  7. I’ve been promising myself to go to the gym for about about a month. Ha! I’ve been working out at home and watching what I eat very carefully though. Somehow I managed to lose 7lbs. So strange. I’d like to lose 5 more for good measure. Summer is coming Whoohoo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Biking would be a cool activity to do. Hiking is another one of those I should consider as well. I do love being out in nature.

      Like

  8. I promised to get up in the morning early a month ago and to do my exercises. It never happened…. to my own shame. So I started to do them in the evening. Works much better! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I learnt to love working up since I found out what is the best for me. SInce I do yoga in my life I feel better inside and outside. Of course, very ofter I’m lazy or/and tired to put my feet on the mat…but when i do I fell way much better after.
    Good luck with your working up routine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome. I have done a little bit of yoga. I have been told that it’s amazing exercise and very relaxing at the same time.

      Like

  10. Following your journey, it seems like getting to the gym is the problem. It’s not that you don’t want to go, you just find yourself so caught up in your daily routine that the gym and your goal of becoming fit is less of a priority that you would like it to be. You might want to consider dumping the gym all together and invest in some home physical fitness equipment and videos. Maybe the P90X or something less physical to get started like zumba. This way you have no excuse not to workout. You find the time (the time it takes you to actually get to the gym can be used to do some workouts at home.) Just enough to build up some sweat and burn a few calories. You don’t really need the social peer pressure that comes with a gym membership, you need to focus more on your physical routine than how others perceive you while working out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank for the advice. I used to do all my workout routines at home when I was married. So I certainly can find ways to do things at home. Maybe getting some equipment would be good as well.

      Like

  11. Hey man, you are on week four and that is inspirational to me. I need to get back to the gym but I have every excuse in the world not to. Keep up the great work. You are inspiring people that you don’t even know. All the best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Woooh! Great Job for this week, David. Same here, lack of sleep was an issue for me. And oh, thanks for this post to remind us to do workout. I remember my hubby mentioned yesterday that he needed it so bad. So we will see what’s gonna happen. Glad to hear that youre doing great with your workout routine. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. You don’t have to meet the goals to say you’re successful this week. You tried your best although that moment with the sirens isn’t really a proud one, lol! I think you did great! Hope you meet your goals for next week.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Great job making it to the gym! As a single parent, I know the struggles. It is a never ending battle. Now I run with my kids and we do 5K’s together. It is a win win for all of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Amen! We are thrown curve balls in life and the very fact that you were able to make it through the week alive speaks volumes! (LOL) I know exactly what it’s like to be super busy but like you say, at the end of the day, we’re still kickin’ so I guess that’s a good thing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

