Fitness Week Eight – Lucky 8?

Good Morning All!!!

Good morning to all the ships at sea out there, or for anyone who is looking for me dropping my blog post today on fitness.  I wish I could say that this is the most amazing wonderful blog post that there could possibly be . . . I wish I could say that I had slaved over it for weeks to bring you the best of me . . . I wish I could go to Zihuatanejo.  Or maybe if this were the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day, I could be in Australia on some beach. But I suppose they have bad days, even in Australia.

 

Oh yeah, fitness.  What kind of shape am I getting in and what am I doing to be in better shape?  Well . . . this has been an unfortunate week.  However, I am really excited about some things, and less excited about others this morning.  So let’s get into the fitness week and then discuss what has been going on and why I am so excited . . . kind of.

IMG_4352
I think I wish I was out here rather than my crazy week

My non-fitness, fitness week

First, what did I do to promote fitness this past week.  Well, I did go to the gym last Friday.  But as far as that goal goes, I am thinking that martians must have pulled me up off the earth and did a mind probe on me to make it so I did not want to do anything this week.  That’s not quite true.  You understand being a parent and making decisions.  And then you understand that once, you make a decision, there is no reset button on the decisions you make.  Who came up with a reset button?  Seriously?!?!

 

So I went to the gym Friday with the full intention of going a few more times this week.  And then I had my daughter this last weekend and excused not trying to go on the weekend.  We did after all go to Knott’s Berry Farm on Friday and then go to Golf N’ Stuff shortly after that with some friends.  So I did do quite a bit of running around.

 

From there on out . . . nothing.  Nada!  Zip!  Zilch.!  I did have stuff to do.  I created a recipe with my daughter last Saturday and did quite a bit of experimentation in the kitchen.  On Sunday I had a film series that I was running at my library so I ran around setting that up.  Mondays are just hard in general because I get B up so early in the morning for school and then have to work all day.  By the time Tuesday came around, I could have gone but I did not.

Murphy and I seem to be best buds

Then there was Wednesday . . . sweet Wednesday.  I worked all day.  Later I went to take my daughter to dinner.  Then we went out and got laptops for each of us. And finally I met a friend for dinner and a movie.  Since I didn’t have to be up until later on on Thursday, I figured I could still do that and go to the gym.  But then I lost one key and locked another set in the car.  Congratulations to me!!!  Ugh!  So by the time I found a spare set at home, got the car and then was wound up for the next couple hours it was almost three in the morning.

 

So did I want to do anything on Thursday?  Heck no!  I wanted to sleep.  And so I tried to do that to the best of my ability.  Hence the gym felt like it was a distant memory.  As far as keeping track of calories or eating, I cannot say that I upped my cooked meal game this week.  What I did do was drink a lot more water, although not quite the 8 glasses a week that I should have been drinking.  But I did up it to 6.  So I am feeling like on that front I did ok.  Ah life!

Goals

So . . . goals for next week.  Still hope to make it back to the four gym sessions a week.  I have to keep the goals don’t I?  And I am going to hope to get up to that 8 glasses of water a day.  As for the home cooked meals.  I am still going to try this.  I think it’s worth it to have it as a goal, and it doesn’t feel quite as defeating as trying to count calories.  I have 13 weeks left of this journey and I am going to get on track if it’s the last thing I do.  (Please don’t take that literally.)

Why I am happy

So why am I feeling defeated, and happy all at a once?  Because I’m crazy!!  Ok, maybe I am crazy in addition to one other thing this week.  I am happy that this blog will be moving.  Wait!  What?!?  I am moving my blog already?  What was I thinking???  I just got here.  Well I suppose that this is true.  But I really have been seriously thinking about self-hosting my blog and I did take some good steps to doing that this week . . . finally.  Between new laptop, paying for a hosting site, finding some good themes and working on my blog, I am hoping to have it up and running soon.  And so I will be excited to see what you think of the blog as it moves forward.  I will let you all know when it is up and running, and I will continue to write and post here in the meantime.

 

So other than that, how was your week out there?  What things did you do to meet your goals?  What barriers did you have in your way?  Did some unexpected good things come up?  And what are you looking forward to?

 

As always, I am looking forward to hearing from you.  Please continue to subscribe as always.  I will hopefully have everything ready in the next few weeks and hope to be able to migrate all my subscribers over.  Plus, I am still giving out the password to the password protected page that has the Dad Rules Magazine on it.  Anyone who hasn’t gotten it yet, I will be sending it out soon either through mail or through a newsletter.  In the meantime, I hope you are all having amazing weeks.

 

Until next time, this is me signing off.

 

David Elliott, Single Dad’s Guide to Life

So, if you have enjoyed any of my previous posts, please follow me at The Single Dad’s Guide to Life – Part 3. (No, it’s not like the Godfather 3. Although it might just keep dragging you back in. So maybe it’s more Godfather 3 than I would like to admit.). Nevertheless, I look forward to seeing you at the new digs and continuing in on the conversation.

Week 0 : Not another Fitness Blog

Week 1 : Week 1

Week 2 : Two Down. Nineteen to Go

Week 3 : Fitness Reboot

Week 4 : I Just Adore Four

Week 5 : Give Me A Five!

Week 6 :  Great DST Conspiracy

Week 7 : Not Quite Heaven

Leave a Reply

